Join The Discussion


Bicycling, fitness center, rooftop bar coming to Clearfork's Trailhead

An 11,000-square-foot bicycling and fitness center is headed for the Trailhead at Clearfork on the Trinity River in west Fort Worth, Cassco Development said Wednesday.

read more >

Residential land at Chisholm Trail Ranch purchased

Stratford Land, Legacy Capital Co. and the Walton Group of Cos. have snapped up 268 acres of residential land at Chisholm Trail Ranch in Fort Worth.

read more >

Fort Worth to consider adopting 15-year Cavile Place redevelopment plan

The 300-unit Cavile Place housing project in Southeast Fort Worth would be razed and replaced in phases, with a significant number of the units redistributed into the neighborhood.

read more >

Fort Worth payment processor acquired by pension plan group

Fort Worth-based First American Payment Systems has been acquired by an investor group led by the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan (Teachers’), with participation of members of the First American management team.

read more >

Texas adds 19,100 nonfarm jobs in June; Fort Worth-Arlington jobless rate 5.3 percent

Seven of Texas' 11 major industry segments added jobs in June, the Texas Workforce Commission reported.

read more >


Focus: Education and Training
Hartman named dean at TCU
Philip S. Hartman has been appointed dean of the College of Science and Engineering at Texas Christian University. He has been interim dean since April 2012 and will begin his new role June 1. 
Hartman earned a bachelor’s degree in bacteriology from Iowa State University in 1975 and a doctoral degree in microbiology from the University of Missouri at Columbia in 1979. He became a National Science Foundation post-doctoral fellow in 1980 and an American Cancer Society post-doctoral fellow in 1981 through a program at the University of Minnesota.
Hartman began his tenure at TCU as an assistant professor of biology in 1981. He was promoted to associate professor in 1987 and professor in 1994. He has chaired the Health Professions Advisory Committee since 1992, is chairman of the Pre-Health Professions Program, and is a faculty adviser to TCU’s chapter of Alpha Epsilon Delta, the pre-health professions honor society.
Fort Worth ISD launches app
The Fort Worth Independent School District is offering a new channel of communication free to parents, students, employees and the community at large
The FWISD Mobile App, available in 70 languages, provides news and student information, including grades and lunch money accounts. Additionally, district initiatives such as It’s Not Okay and Friends For Life are available at the touch of a button.
Only parents or guardians who previously enrolled for online services such as Parent Portal or will have access to student-specific accounts. But anyone can use the new app to access updated district and campus news, find school and department phone numbers and check sports scores.
The app is available on the Apple App Store for iPhone users. Android users can find it on the Google Play store. The district has partnered with its mass communications vendor, ParentLink, to create the application.
TTI, Mouser sponsor UT-Arlington scholarship
TTI Inc. and Mouser Electronics Inc. have established a scholarship to help support students enrolled in the Arnold E. Petsche Center for Automotive Engineering at the University of Texas at Arlington.
The center promotes engineering education, innovation and entrepreneurship through its student participation in the Formula SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) program. Through the design, manufacture and testing of real Formula SAE cars, it teaches students to apply what they learn in the classroom to real-world engineering know-how.
Wingstop honors Crowley student 
Wingstop D-FW Advertising Co-op named North Crowley High School senior K’ashley Collins its High School Scholar Athlete for March.
Collins will graduate with a 3.2 GPA this spring. She plays volleyball on the All-Academic first team for her district and was the Defensive MVP. This fall, Collins will attend Fisk University in Nashville, Tenn., where she will continue playing volleyball while pursuing a pre-dental major. Collins also is the leader of the Big Brothers Big Sisters Mentors for Elementary Students at Crowley ISD.
The Wingstop D-FW Advertising Co-op, which is made up of more than 75 restaurants throughout the area, launched the scholarship for student athletes in the Metroplex in January 2012. Wingstop has partnered with KTVT-TV CBS and invites viewers, athletic directors, coaches and the public to nominate student athletes for its $1,000 scholarships, awarded monthly throughout the school year.
Nomination forms are available at
You’re the top, Kevin Lacefield
The Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra and Score a Goal in the Classroom School Incentive Program recently presented the Northwest Independent School District’s Kevin Lacefield with this year’s Bayard H. Friedman Hero Award as the most outstanding fine arts director in North Texas.
Under Lacefield’s leadership, enrollment in Northwest’s fine arts program has doubled in the last five years. Lacefield received his bachelor’s degree in music at Hardin-Simmons University, his master’s degree from Eastman School of Music and his doctorate of education from the University of North Texas.
In addition to the award, Lacefield received a $1,000 honorarium from XTO Energy Inc.
Three Poly seniors win TCU scholarships
Three seniors from the Fort Worth Independent School District’s Polytechnic High School have been selected as Community Scholar award winners for the Texas Christian University Classof 2017. Each student has been awarded a full-tuition, four-year scholarship valued at $200,000.
The recipients are Nikki Nguyen, Ashley Tilley and Melissa Chaparro.
The Community Scholars Program recruits top candidates from urban, high-minority public high schools and offers more than $3 million in scholarships each year. The program has a graduation rate of more than 90 percent. More than 200 students have graduated or are involved in the program.
Other Fort Worth ISD high schools participating in the Community Scholars Program are: Diamond Hill-Jarvis, Dunbar, North Side, O.D. Wyatt, South Hills and Trimble Tech.
Send education items to Betty Dillard at


< back

Email   email
Training Camp
Training camp is starting this week. How will the Dallas Cowboys do this season?